The first steps in the beginning of the century

On the 28th of April 1910 by virtue of the law GBKL, a seventh Ministry was established, that of “Agriculture, Trade and Industry” that was renamed to “Ministry of National Economy” (this was modified with Law ΓΨ4Η and the Law 241/1916), with the following competence:

a)  Constitution, organisation and administration of Agricultural Stations, model Farms of special Zootechnical, Wine-making, Olive-growing, Dairy and Water Management Stations and Agricultural Chemical Factories.

b)  The Agricultural Education in general

c)  The care concerning the Constitution of Agricultural Chambers

d)  The Rural Police and the Police for plant diseases.

e)  span>The Police of Epizootic and the Veterinary Authority of the State.

f)    The monitoring and maintenance of hedgerows, gardens, etc..

In the beginning, only one Department was foreseen: “Agriculture”, that was entrusted to the Agronomist Spiros Chasiotis. With the Law 241/1916 the Departments of “Agriculture Economy”, “Forests”.“Zootechnical and Veterinary Authority” were added.

The Department of Agriculture had two Offices (Administrative and Training). There were also established three (3) Inspecting bodies (Agriculture, Plant Service, Vinicultural and Phylloxeral).

With the Law Γ.Κ. of 12 August 1911, the Law 260 was modified, regulating the matter of the Exterior Agricultural Services of the State.

For the first time is introduced the institution of the “Law-agronomist” and of the “specialists” and the Agricultural stations (except from 4 thereof) are converted into Farms, the extension of which is being anticipated. Farms: the Agricultural Stations that existed (outside Athens, Tyrinth, Vitina and Patra) are abolished and in their place are founded the “Model Farms”, which are also extending into other centres of the Prefecture (outside the capitals of the Prefectures), provided that no stations are functioning therein.  Their foundation is being done with the initiative and at the expense of the Municipalities, the Communities of the Prefectures, the Associations, with state Agronomists) (up to one per province) and provided that no State Station, Farm or Training unit is functioning therein).


Former Ministers - Under-secretaries


The English version of the WebSite of the Ministry contains only a part of the information that is available in the Greek version of the site.

Ευρωπαική νομική επικαιρότητα 4


Government Links

Πρόγραμμα Διάυγεια  |  Υπ. Αγροτικής Ανάπτυξης & Τροφίμων open gov gr data gov gr

Useful Infromation

1540 Farmers Call Center 

The telephone number "1540" s an automatic telephone service system that is interfacing with the information systems of the Ministry and provides automated answering services.

The currently available "1540" services are:

  • Reply of the Ministry Representative.
  • The update on the single payment payments OPEKEPE (requires identification of the Beneficiary with VAT and the last 4 digits of the Farmer's Identity)
  • Complaints relating to the origin of meat.
  • Information on Greek Food
  • Information about available digital services of the Hellenic Ministry of Rrural Development anf Foods

Contact Us


Hellenic Ministry of Rural Development and Food |

Address: 2 Acharnon,Athens, 101 76, Greece, |

Call Center: +30 (210) 212-4000 |  

Farmers Call Center: 1540 | email:  |


The address of Dir of e-Government and Informatics is: Acharnon 381 & Destouni 2,

Postcode.: 111 43, Athens.




Social Media



Υπουργείο Αγροτικής Ανάπτυξης και Τροφίμων |

Διεύθυνση: Αχαρνών 2, Αθήνα, 101 76, Ελλάδα |

Τηλεφωνικό Κέντρο: +30 (210) 212-4000 |  

Κέντρο εξυπηρέτησης Αγροτών: 1540 και το email |


Η ταχυδρομική διεύθυνση της Διεύθυνσης Ηλεκτρονικής Διακυβέρνησης είναι: Αχαρνών 381 & Δεστούνη 2,

Τ.Κ.: 111 43, Αθήνα.




Κοινωνικά Δίκτυα


Background Image

Header Color


Content Color